Lovers Rock According to Freddie McGregor

Freddie McGregor

Freddie McGregor

Here is a mix that many Reggae Lover listeners have been looking for. Freddie McGregor is one of reggae’s most prolific and successful artists. With roots in the 60’s at Studio One and a stellar career established over decades of tremendous success, Freddie is a living legend and continues to record and tour the world today.

The songs compiled here share the themes of love and relationships and the mix is absolutely crucial. I’m keeping the show notes short on this one, but the mix runs for almost an hour.

Please leave a comment here or email to let me know if the music sounds as good to you that it does to me.

Freddie McGregor Playlist:

1 Big Ship
2 When I’m Ready
3 Come Now Sister
4 Curly Locks
5 Curly Dub
6 Stop Loving You
7 Little Nut Tree
8 Nutmeg Dub
9 Sweet Talking
10 Mr. Fix It
11 Fix Him Dub
12 Give Me The Right
13 The Right Dub
14 Can I Change My Mind
15 Your Love (Change In Me)
16 Every Day Is Just a Holiday
17 Holiday Dub
18 Searching
19 I See It In You
20 Lovers Rock
21 Push Come To Shove
22 Undying Love
23 Undying Dub
24 Breaking Up
25 Breaking Dub
26 A House Is Not A Home
27 Gatepass To Your Heart
28 Take Time To Know Her
29 Come On Little Girl
30 Big Girl Dub
31 One More Dance
32 Danger In Your Eyes
33 You Have Caught Me
34 Let Him Try
35 Just Don’t Want To Be Lonely
36 How Can I Forget
37 Loving Pauper
38 Not Giving Up On You
39 Moving Away
40 I Was Born A Winner
41 Falling In Love With You
42 Falling In Dub
43 You’re Gonna Lose
44 Losing Dub
45 Westbound Train ft. Jacob Miller

Freddie McGregor Album Release Party and Signing


On Saturday, February 23rd a living reggae legend, Freddie McGregor will be up close and personal at Elegance Restaurant and Lounge signing copies of his new album “Di Captain.”

Di Captain of Big Ship

Freddie McGregor Album Release Party

Admission to the event will be FREE as this will also be a DaFlavaRadio listener appreciation party as well as Elegance Restaurant and Lounge customer appreciation.  Make sure you support the new album and come out to meet ‘Mr. Big Ship’ himself Freddie McGregor.

New Studio Album From Freddie McGregor: Di Captain

Freddie McGregor - Di Captain - Artwork

Freddie McGregor‘s “Di Captain” Album Artwork

Freddie McGregor is a reggae icon who has endured more than 30 years in the business.  He has released over 40 albums, scored innumerable hits, led his own Big Ship production company and record label, and maintained a hefty international touring schedule, all while nurturing many young talents in the business, most notably his sons Stephen and Daniel (known as Chino).

Di Captain is a new studio album showcasing Freddie’s talent for re-interpretation with a selection of cover songs including a remake of his own 1980 hit “Africa (Here I Come).”  Other highlights include “Move Up Jamaica,” a spirited tribute for Jamaica’s 50th Anniversary of Independence, and “You Won’t See Me,” a new take on the classic Beatles tune.  The album also features up-and-coming reggae sensations, Etana and Gappy Ranks.

Reggae Vault Classics with Freddie McGregor – New Podcast


Log on to and listen to the Reggae Vault Classics Show LIVE on Wednesdays at 7pm EST.

This episode of the syndicated Reggae Vault Classics podcast was produced for promotional purposes only by Highlanda Sound for 2010 featuring classic reggae music in a radio broadcast mix-show format.

REGGAE VAULT CLASSICS is a live full stereo radio format music oriented program designed to spotlight strictly the best of the best music from the great artists in reggae and dancehall music genres. The show streams live on Wednesdays from 7:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. E.S.T. on, and is accessible via computer, iphone, and Blackberry.

Songs on the Reggae Vault Classics playlist will range from slow, medium, and fast tempo classic reggae and dancehall hits. Some songs and riddims are blended for smooth transitions while others are played from the beginning. The hosts introduce songs and artists, and provide background information and relevant banter intermittently. Commercial breaks are strategically placed within 10 minutes to the top of the hour to maximize the amount of music per hour with few interruptions.

At 8:30 p.m. E.S.T. every show features the Featured Artist Special Mix. This special mix features the musical catalog of a legendary artist within the reggae and dancehall music genres.

We now present to you this special mix podcast featuring the music of legendary singer Freddie McGregor.

Download Media files (Right-click and select “Save as…”)

(MP3 Format Sound, 51.3 MB)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Dancehall Now Episode 24 – Welcome to Summer 2009 Mix

Dancehall Now
Image by highlanda via Flickr

This is the latest episode of the syndicated Dancehall Now podcast produced by Highlanda Sound System for June 23, 2009 featuring the very latest dancehall music in a full stereo radio broadcast format.

Dancehall Now is in keeping with Highlanda Sound’s stated mission to entertain and promote reggae music world wide. This show may contain language that may be considered by some to be offensive. Views expressed by artists and guests on this show are not necessarily shared or endorsed by Highlanda Sound.

Right Click the file and select “Save Link As…” to download the entire mp3 file or just click to listen to the audio stream now. We sincerely hope you enjoy the selections. Please send your comments, feedback, and requests to or feel free to comment here. If you like what you hear please subscribe to get automatic updates when new shows are added.

Direct MP3 Download Link (Right-click and select “Save as…” to download)


1 Anytime (Remake) – Gyptian
2 Holiday – Damian ‘Junior Gong’ Marley
3 Let Them Talk – Bitty McClean
4 Anything Goes – Vybz Kartel
5 Wine – Beenie Man
6 Wine – Busy Signal
7 Rise Di K – Vybz Kartel
8 I Wanna Love You – T.O.K
9 Don’t Leave – Bobby Valentino featuring Mavado
10 Just Mek A Duppy – Bounty Killer
11 Hard To Handle – Nah Switch
12 Good Luck – Shema
13 Forgive Me – Chino
14 Don’t Walk Away – Petah Morgan
15 All About You – Wayne Wonder
16 Sorry – Anthony B
17 Coming Home – Stevie Face
18 Rizzla – Jovi Rockwell
19 Defend Your Own – Tony Matterhorn featuring Fire Links
20 Go Hard – Fambo featuring Esco
21 Purify – Elephant Man
22 Sponge – Assassin
23 Supem Ago Happen – Vybz Kartel
24 Weird Hugging – Bling Dawg
25 Nah – Vybz Kartel
26 MockingBird – Mavado
27 Real Gangsters – T.O.K
28 Some People – Bramma featuring Di Genius
29 Praise And Worship – Busy Signal
30 From Mawning – Chino
31 Waste Time – Laden
32 Sunglasses At Night – Brukup featuring Shaggy
33 Street Team – Fire Links
34 Gaza Wine – Jah vinci featuring Shawn Storm
35 Walk Out – Elephant Man
36 Like A Movie – Vybz Kartel
37 Enemies – Delly featuring JR
38 Let Me Go – Mavado
39 Dem A Talk – Mavado
40 Up In Her Belly – Busy Signal
41 Wine Fast – Fay-Ann Lyons featuring Beenie Man
42 Lumbah – Wayne Marshall
43 Obsessive Winers – Destra Garcia featuring Alison Hinds and Denise Belfon

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]