Reggae Vault Classics 15

This is the latest episode of the syndicated Reggae Vault Classics podcast produced by Kahlil Wonda of Highlanda Sound for the week of April 13, 2009 featuring classic reggae music in a DJ mixed format with no talking.

The Crown Prince of Reggae himself, the late Mr. Dennis Emmanuel Brown kicks off this week’s freestyle mix with Whip Them Jah, Here I Come, and Money In My Pocket. Since last week’s show was devoted to the music of just one artist, I wanted to make sure I covered all other bases this time around. Therefore, this week’s episode features all singers and gives you some Studio One selections, but also includes labels like Trojan Records, Joe Gibbs, and Techniques. The playlist spans from the 1960s with original John Holt, Derrick Morgan, and Sugar Minott through the 1990s with Buju Banton, Beenie Man, and Terry Ganzie. There’s even a bonus mix of Highlanda dubplate specials for the dubplate fans. Hopefully you will want this one to be stored safely in your Ipod where you can listen and share with others.

Right Click the file link and select “Save As…” to download the entire mp3 file or just click to listen to the audio stream now. We sincerely hope you enjoy the selections and mixing. Please send your comments, feedback, and requests to or feel free to comment right here. If you like what you hear please subscribe to get automatic updates when new shows are added.

Direct mp3 Download Link (right click and “save as”)


1 Whip Them Jah – Dennis Brown
2 Here I Come – Dennis Brown
3 Money In My Pocket – Dennis Brown
4 Rude Boy Shufflin – Israel Vibration
5 Send Them Come – Terry Ganzie
6 Murderer – Buju Banton
7 Up Park Camp – John Holt
8 No Man’s Land – Cornell Campbell
9 Wolves And Leopards – Dennis Brown
10 Population – Burning Spear
11 A Love I Can Feel – Dennis Alcapone featuring John Holt
12 When I’m Ready – Freddie McGregor
13 Love You Still – George Scott
14 Don’t Fuss Or Fight – Barrington Levy
15 Never Gonna Give Jah Up – Sugar Minott
16 Collie Weed – Barrington Levy
17 Trodding Through The Jungle – Carlton Livingston
18 Sensimelia – Barrington Levy
19 Entertainment – Tristan Palmer
20 Under Me Sensi – Barrington Levy featuring Beenie Man
21 Cuss Cuss – Lloyd Robinson
22 Roll Call – Tenor Saw
23 Natural Mistic – Jennifer Lara
24 Tougher Than Tough (Rudie in Court) – Derrick Morgan
25 Oh DC – Sugar Minott

26 Bonus Dubplate Mix

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

4th Annual Vintage Fest in NYC

JAMROCK Magazine proudly presents the 4th annual Vintage Fest at the world renowned Hammerstein Ballroom, Saturday Dec. 6th. The show stars classic reggae acts John Holt, Cocoa Tea, Leroy Sibbles, Sugar Minott, Carlton Livingston, Brigadier Jerry and U-Roy.  A classic line up for vintage Reggae lovers. Be ready to rock steady.

4th Annual Vintage Fest Poster

4th Annual Vintage Fest Poster

Returning to the Vintage Fest stage in high demand by the people, John Holt has delivered timeless reggae classics like Police in Helicopter, Stick by Me, and Ali Baba. In height the U.S. political season Cocoa Tea lent his voice in support of Senator Barack Obama’s presidential campaign with his song Barack Obama, now the sweet sounds of Cocoa Tea will hit the Hammerstein with the same zeal for his fans with songs like Rocker’s Island and Lost My Sonia. Legendary bassist and vocalist Leroy Sibbles is bound to sing signature Heptones tunes like Baby and Fattie, Fattie. Singer, songwriter, Sugar Minott has had countless hits and a timeless catalogue sure to please fans. Dancehall’s originator U-Roy, affectionately known as Daddy U-Roy, will play on his classic lyrical toasting for true dancehall fans with hits like Runaway Girl, Natty Rebel and Wake the Town For the first time on stage at Vintage Fest, dub singer Carlton Livingston and classic dancehall DJ Brigadier Jerry are bound to give the audience a performance not to be missed!

Set to transport New York City on December 6, 2008 into a time where some of the best musical memories lie, the 4th Annual Vintage Fest features the best in reggae and dancehall capturing the essence of the music’s innovators.

Tickets are available through and To purchase tickets by phone please call 212-307-7171 or 718-325-5555 respectively. Doors open at 7pm, show starts promptly at 8pm.

In these times turn to ‘The Book of Life’


One of the reasons I love foundation (reggae) music is because of how the messages brought forth in songs recorded decades ago still can be applied directly to life today. Many of the lyrics and concepts are actually quotes from biblical texts sung over reggae bass lines. The Highlanda mixtape entitled ‘The Book of Life’ is dedicated to such selections from the Finest Years era and offers the wisdom of the ancients to those who will listen. ‘That’s right! If a reality you want, let me hear you shout out Highlanda!’ Listen to the Book of Life, now streaming online at This mix will also be available as an mp3 file for download on demand soon. I welcome your comments and feedback.

Song List
1 – Intro – Tings Change
2 – Armageddon Time – Willie Williams
3 – Fussing and Fighting – Dennis Brown
4 – Cool Out Son – Junior Murvin
5 – No Man’s Land – Cornell Campbell
6 – Tribal War – John Holt
7 – Wolves and Leopards – Dennis Brown
8 – Whip Them Jah Jah – Dennis Brown
9 – No Man is an Island – Dennis Brown
10 – Never Gonna Give Jah Up – Sugar Minott
11 – Created By the Father – Dennis Brown
12 – Feeling Soul – Bob Andy
13 – Police and Thieves – Junior Murvin
14 – Satisfy My Soul – Bob Marley and the Wailers
15 – Slave Driver – Bob Marley and the Wailers

16 – I am the Conqueror – Dennis Brown
17 – Rebel Music – Bob Marley and the Wailers
18 – General Penitentiary – Black Uhuru
19 – Were Gonna Fight – The Heptones
20 – Fade Away – Junior Byles
21 – Unchained – Bob Andy
22 – Hog and Goat – Don Carlos
23 – Cost of Living – Half Pint
24 – Early Sunday Morning – Eek A Mouse
25 – Praise Jehovah – Tenor Saw
26 – Ruff Ole Life – Sugar Minott
27 – M-16 – Sammy Dread
28 – Rudeboy Skanking – Israel Vibration
29 – Skylarking – Horace Andy
30 – See A Man’s Face – Horace Andy

31 – Truths and Rights – Johnny Osborne
32 – Mr. Bassie – Horace Andy
33 – I Need A Roof – The Mighty Diamonds
34 – Jah Promise – Johnny Osborne
35 – Bobby Babylon – Freddie McGregor
36 – I Shall Sing – Marcia Griffiths
37 – Better Must Come – Delroy Wilson
38 – None Shall Escape – Johnny Clarke